Editing Workflow Settings and Design
You can edit a workflow's settings from multiple places:
From a specific workflow's dashboard, open "Settings"
Here you can update your workflow name, change the question used to name each workflow instance, and toggle on the "Notify requesters by Slack DM instead of in the thread?" setting.
Here you can edit permissions for a specific workflow. There are four types of user roles: "Admin," "Observer," "Requester," and "No Access."
Here's a breakdown of what each role can see and do:
In addition to these different roles, you can also set permissions at both the workspace and individual level for any given workflow.
Default workspace permissions determine how the majority of your workspace interacts with a workflow, whereas individual permissions are the exceptions to the rule.
For this workflow, the default permission is "Requester," with the exception of Claire, whose permission is "Admin."
Here are some example workflows and how you might set up their permissions:
- A personnel workflow for compensation adjustments and promotions that only people managers can use, the HR team can monitor, and the head of HR can edit.
- Default: No Access
- People managers: Requester
- HR team: Observer
- Head of HR: Admin
- An employee expense reimbursement workflow that everyone in the organization can use, but that only the finance team can monitor and the head of finance can edit.
- Default: Requester
- Finance team: Observer
- Head of Finance: Admin
- A marketing content request workflow at a small company where only one employee manages marketing, and everyone else can submit a request.
- Default: Requester
- Marketing employee: Admin
By default, the default permission for everyone in your workspace is "Requester," and the permission for the person who created the workflow is "Admin."
If you're not ready to roll out a specific workflow in your workspace, consider temporarily setting its default permission to "No Access" so no one can request it before it's ready.
Some workflows created before July 2022 may have had their permissions set from the "Edit Workflow Visibility" modal under My Workflows. That modal included the option to make the workflow open by leaving the "Who should be able to see this workflow?" field blank:
Here you can export the complete history of your workflow as a CSV. Once the export is ready, you'll have a message in the Wrangle app in Slack where you can download your CSV.
If you'd like to hide a workflow so no one can use it in Slack or edit it, you can archive it.
Archived workflows will appear in their own tab on the Workflows view. To restore an archived workflow, click "View Workflow," then "Restore Workflow" on the following page:
Click "View Workflow"
Click "Restore Workflow." You can also export an archived workflow's history at any time.
You'll be taken back to the workflow settings, where you can finalize your workflow restoration: